PDA

View Full Version : Snowboarding - tell me all about it!

Cassandra_Cain
12-01-2006, 09:15 PM
Hey, so while I'm still riding regularly (outside & inside), I wanted to have a go at something new when I'm off the bike.

Enter snowboarding!

I went skiing for a day, some years ago, however I want to do something different. Call it eccentric or whatever but I'd like to try a totally novel sport.

So what is it like? What should I keep in mind? Any tips, tricks, advice...or warnings? :D

All I've read is that the first few days, well, rather suck! But that it gets better and you can supposedly learn quickly afterwards. I'm totally new to it so I have no idea how true (or not) that is.

Would love to hear your stories and suggestions :)

colby
12-01-2006, 09:28 PM
My advice: take lessons!!! Around here, they have a 1-2-3 program, and after 3 lessons you are pretty much functional on most terrain (essentially everything green and blue, I'd say). Take at LEAST one lesson to get yourself oriented and get the basics down, it will help a lot. It's really frustrating to learn on your own. Even after learning and being capable of navigating a lot of terrain on my own, I still take lessons to get me to the next step.

Once you get it, it's quite fun, but expect to spend a lot of time on your butt that first couple of days. ;) There are a lot of things that just "click" once you get the hang of it. I think it's great fun. Like you, I set out to just do something different and have fun. Wish I'd have started with a lesson, though.