PDA

View Full Version : How to choose -- any advice welcome!

Takiana
11-28-2006, 05:45 AM
Here's the background (one oft heard heard before here, I'm sure). I've been riding recreationally and for fitness on a Cannondale Hybrid for a few years and have decided to begin centuries with a new road bike. So, I'm new to road biking. I've decided on carbon fiber frame (for ride and longevity) and need WSD (size 47/48 bike).

Here's the question, I've looked at 3 bikes, Specialized Ruby, Trek 5000 WSD and the next step up, Trek Madone 5.0. There's a significant price jump from the first 2 to the last, and I'm just not sure what you really get for the price or if there are any ride differences, etc. I've read that the Madone is a stiffer and less forgiving ride, so maybe it's not a good choice for a beginner?

Any thoughts, advice would be very appreciated.

Thank you.

Veronica
11-28-2006, 05:54 AM
Carbon fiber and longevity - not phrases I put together. :D

Why are you looking at only "race" bikes? Their geometry will be very different from the hybrid you're currently riding.

V.

Blueberry
11-28-2006, 06:14 AM
Carbon fiber and longevity - not phrases I put together. :D

Why are you looking at only "race" bikes? Their geometry will be very different from the hybrid you're currently riding.

V.

Ditto this. I'm in the process of selling bikes that have been "learning experiences." One of the things I have discovered is that I really like steel. I've not had a carbon bike, but I have ridden aluminum, and just wasn't comfortable on long rides because of the harshness of the ride. I would worry about riding a bike that was known to be harsh.

Another thing I have learned is that a racing geometry is not comfortable for me. I'm not happy with handlebars lower than the saddle.