PDA

View Full Version : you may be a bike commuter if...

lph
11-25-2006, 03:35 AM
haven't seen this category yet, so I doodled out my own. It's here rather than in Humor, in case nobody but me finds this funny :p

You may be a bike commuter if:

You can put on your bike clothes in your sleep, and frequently do.

Breakfast on weekends feels kinda funny, because you're not wearing bike clothes.

On weekend MTB rides you check that your pannier is ok. 5 times. Even though you haven't got one on.

Your bike handling skills mainly involve being the first one out of every intersection, and correctly gauging if you have time to pass the 20-bus at the bus stop.

You start pulling other bike commuters on "your" stretch over to tell them, gently, that they should wear a helmet and use lights. You start by saying "I've been commuting here for more than 5 years, and..."

You wear out brake pads in 3 months.

Biking takes twice as long as any other mode of transport, three times as long if you count showering and changing, and you get cold and wet, but you still think it's worth it. Most of the time.

Your bike shop takes more than 2 days to fix your bike, and you seriously consider getting another one to use in the meantime.

Your bike shop takes more than 2 days to fix your bike, and you get irritable and antsy and start posting snide things about the bike shop on the internet.

You don't know his name and have barely seen his face, but you know his work schedule, what make of tights he wears, and whether he likes to bike fast uphills or not.

You have an interesting and fulfilling job that you love, but the absolutely no.1 best part about it is that your workplace has a shower.

You have an interesting and fulfilling job, but are considering quitting because your workplace doesn't have a shower.

Your colleagues no longer ask why your hair is wet.