PDA

View Full Version : jogging endurance

violette
11-22-2006, 04:55 AM
Hi All:

I've been jogging for about 7 months. Each time I go for a run (8K), I suffer each time. It seems I strugle every time to the end. I'm in good shape, I cycle on my road bike almost everyday, I go to spin class...with no problem, but when I jog, I can't seem to pick up the pace, I'm so out of breath, I can barly make it. I have a puffer, I have exercised enduced asthma, but I know others who have this and run with no problem. I don't talk when I jog, usually I'm by myself...What is wrong with me??

tattiefritter
11-22-2006, 05:24 AM
I mainly ride and find running much harder work than cycling, I usually experience what you describe if I set off far too fast. Fast for me is doing the first mile in about 8:30 minutes (not fast for many but fast for me), if I get carried away and allow that to happen then the latter parts of the run really hurt.

I also found that when I increased my longest run to 7 or 8 miles then on the shorter runs I started to naturally increase my pace a little and they felt easier. In the summer when I was only doing a couple of 4 mile runs a week it never felt like it was getting any easier. Increasing the length of one of your runs gradually (run as slow as you like) will help your running fitness. I'm running three times a week at the minute as I am training for a couple of races and the extra run also has helped, in the summer I drop it back.

HillSlugger
11-22-2006, 06:25 AM
Maybe some short, fast intervals would help? I can try asking my running trainer friend and see what he says.

KSH
11-22-2006, 06:25 AM
From experience... I know that just because I can swim and ride a bike (for 60+ miles) doesn't mean that I can RUN... without huffing and puffing.

When you go the longer distance... are you timing your miles (or kilometers?) and keeping the pace the same for each one?