PDA

View Full Version : ARGH - blister on foot

colby
11-07-2006, 06:01 PM
Some of the cycling-only ladies might be able to help with this, too, it's not strictly a running thing. I'll leave it in Running for now since that's my major issue.

After running for so long, I have a lot of callouses on my feet, and a lot of regular blister spots that come and go. They aren't really scary blisters like the ones I get on my hands if I shovel dirt all day, that pus up and when they pop make me cry (or at least yell inappropriate words loudly). Usually blisters on the feet for me end up being really hard, tough skin, are really shallow (not too puffy), don't hurt too much, and are precursors to callouses.

I have recently acquired a particularly evil blister on the widest part of my right foot. I have had small ones there that seemed to "transition" to callouses or tough skin, but nothing like this. It really doesn't bother me in my running shoes while running, but obviously my running shoes MUST be the cause, as when I take them off it looks worse, and hurts when I do put on shoes that rub (sigh, my everyday shoes). My running shoes don't really rub there until my feet swell, apparently. I really don't notice it until I stop.

Today after my run (only 6 miles even), it almost looks like it's bleeding underneath the blistered area... like it's bruised and blistered in the same place, if that makes sense. It widened a little, and is pretty funky looking. No popping or anything, though. I put some moleskin on it for today, which may or may not actually be helping, I can't really tell.

Should I be worried about the color? What should I do for regular running, continue with the moleskin? Get some of those fancy blister band-aids? Ideas welcome.

Bikingmomof3
11-07-2006, 07:14 PM
Colby,