PDA

View Full Version : New Bike & Seat

Trixiee
03-27-2002, 02:30 AM
Hi,
I am new to riding. My goal is to do 2 or 3 duathlons this summer. Can someone provide me with some advise as to how to find a good bike for this purpose? I am hoping to get some money back when I do my income taxes, so for now, I'll continue to train using my touring bike. I don't think that heavy bike will be suitable tho' for duathlons...or am I assuming incorrectly?

After reading these boards, I'm having nightmares about choosing the correct seat for me. Could someone give me a "heart to heart", frank explanation of what exactly to be aware of when purchasing a bike?

How do I know which bike shop will be the most helpful? I have a choice of 2 shops in my town. One sells Giant bikes, the other Shimano. Any preferences between those two bikes among you women?

BTW...I'm 41, 5'3", and weigh about 150 lbs. (Hoping to trim off 10 lbs before my first Duathlon in June)

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!
:confused: :(

Trixiee
04-03-2002, 02:30 AM
Anybody else read this?....Just wondering!

J**
04-05-2002, 05:52 AM
Trixiee--I'm not a duathlete or a triathlete, but since no one else has responded to your questions, I've got some suggestions.

First, educate yourself--which I realize is what you were trying to do by posting here. But there's another way. I recommend two useful books: A Woman's Guide to Cycling and The Female Cyclist. The first is packed with good info on bike buying and fitting along with lots of other stuff for a new rider. The second book is a little more advanced, so may be useful for your duathlon training.

As far as choosing a saddle, most shops will let you try one for a ride or two, then exchange it for another until you find the one that's right for you. Ask before you buy.

I hope some of this is helpful. Most of all, have fun cycling!
--J

Trixiee
04-05-2002, 11:47 AM
thnx j!

I will try that suggestion!

trix:)

debict
04-09-2002, 02:47 PM
Trixie,