PDA

View Full Version : pain between my shoulders

Barb
04-19-2004, 03:39 PM
I just started riding my road bike. It's an old Schwinn World Sport 10 speed (checked out by my LBS). I noticed that I get sore between my shoulder blades and my wieght rests more on the heels of my hands than the center of my palms. Does that sound like my top bar is too short for me?

I've been riding a hybrid that is very upright so I don't know how I should feel on this new bike! I wish my tax return would come so that I could just plunk down some cash for a proper fitting.

Dogmama
04-19-2004, 06:29 PM
Do you have drop handlebars?

Barb
04-20-2004, 04:23 AM
Yes I have drops but I was not down in them for the ride.

Irulan
04-20-2004, 07:10 AM
definatley sounds like fitting issues to me... stem length and angle, maybe handle bar width and angle also

Irulan

SadieKate
04-21-2004, 10:50 AM
A bike fittting would definitely help rule out length of top tube, stem, etc. But you also are now bent over in a more aero potion requiring more back and neck strength. Is this pain immediate or does it appear later in the your rides? Tired riders will sometimes let their shoulders and back kind of cave in between their shoulder blades. Upper body strength can help.

Also, you now have more hand positions and should be changing your position frequently. This will help with hand pain even if the bike doesn't fit quite right. Do you have any experienced roadie friends who can help with bike fit until you have the money for a professional fitting?

mel
06-29-2004, 01:14 AM
Barb,