PDA

View Full Version : noisy gearing

PAFreckles
10-27-2006, 06:20 AM
I have a 2006 Trek 1500 wsd which i love dearly and it rides like a dream. BUT, the gearing is noisy. There are very few gears that allow silent riding. I have had it to the shop several times for adjustment since april and I am beginning to wonder if this problem is specific to the bike. I have not had this with any of my other bikes. Maybe I should find another shop. Anyone else have this problem?

mimitabby
10-27-2006, 06:55 AM
Hey PA, welcome to the forum. I am not an expert, but i promise some wiser folks will read and respond to your post soon. however
it sounds like you need a better mechanic!
if SOME gears are quiet and OTHERS are not. That sounds like they are not fixing it.

We hope you'll stick around and get to know us..

but hang on, others will respond..

Mimi

velogirl
10-27-2006, 07:08 AM
I assume you have a triple since that's what comes stock on the Trek 1500? Are you aware that there are five different trims for the front derailleur? If you trim correctly, this should eliminate much of the noise you hear. As your bike shop to explain how to do this.

mimitabby
10-27-2006, 07:14 AM
Oh Velogirl, WHAT is a TRIM?? Does my bike have them too?

indysteel
10-27-2006, 07:27 AM
Given what you've already described, I tend to think it's a rear--and not a front--derailleur issue. Does the chatter or noise increase as your chain gets more out of a straight line, i.e., as you shift into more "extreme" gears in teh back?

Alternatively, it could be that your chain is too long or too short. Have them check the length. And, if it's a 10-speed, make sure you have a chain appropriate for a 10-speed. I had all kinds of drivetrain noise until I realized that the LBS hadn't changed my chain out when they switched me over to a 10-speed cassette. They tried to convince me that the chain was fine, but I insisted. And guess what? No more noise. They should have known better, but that's another story.