PDA

View Full Version : x-c skiing

pyxichick
10-26-2006, 07:03 PM
Okay, I know it may be a little early to bring it up, but are there any other cross country skiers here?

I love having this place to talk to other women about cycling, but I can't seem to find anything equivalent for women and skiing. It'd be great to have some online ski friends to check in with once in awhile. :)

Kate

yellow
10-26-2006, 07:17 PM
Oh, we're here. I can think of a few...Bron, Telegirl, fixedgeargirl, Dr. Liz... and myself, of course. I know there are others...

I prefer to skate but will tour with my hubby and puppy dog on occasion. I also tele and backcountry ski, though the older I get, the more I like skating. It's like skiing and running combined, two of my most favorite things! :)

short cut sally
10-26-2006, 07:33 PM
i am new to x-c skiing, got started last year. the snow wasn't the greatest to do a lot of it though. am hoping for some quality time this year. not good at going down hills, afraid to really. if its too steep, i slide down on my butt. i know i'm a weenie. i can go up without problems though. not sure what i have to do, if anything, to get my skis ready for this year. will have to ask around. i have waxless, so i've been told. i am actually planning stuff already, now that biking is slowing down.

han-grrl
10-27-2006, 05:23 AM
I have been skiing classic for a few years, and last year my hubby bought me skate skis...i LOVE them...omg!!

the first time i went out i probably went like MAYBE 200meters...then the second a little further. my goal for the winter was to complete the 22 km road loop we have here..which i did. it took me just over 3 hours...which is funny because it takes me 52 minutes on the road bike. anyway, i hobbled over to the car when i was done and cheered when i did it...it was a warm beautiful day and the snow was mushy and soft (5 degrees C that day)...

i am looking forward to skiing and snoe showing again!

Kimmyt
10-27-2006, 05:25 AM