PDA

View Full Version : I'm always last! It sucks!

Puffin
10-26-2006, 06:10 AM
So, thought I'd have a bit of a moan and maybe get some friendly words of advice back. Or a kick up the backside.
I have been riding for about 4 years. First year my husband had a big crash and the second year it took me months to master spds so I kinda associate mtb with pain, particularly when dh is stronger and fitter and makes me go up (and down!) steep hills.
On the rare occasion (maybe once a month) that we ride with others, I am ALWAYS last, other women and 13year old boys included. I don't complain at the time, because that the last thing anyone wants to hear, but it's really beginning to get me down and put me off going out at all.
Of course it's a vicious circle - the more I fall off or come last, the less I want to ride and the less able I am to improve my riding.
Yeah the secret to everyone elses success over me is they ride more! But I get BORED if all I do is ride... I like to do other things as well - like go on NORMAL holidays not just mtb in Alps, mtb in Scotland, mtb to the pub...

Is it a case of wanting my cake and eating it?

tattiefritter
10-26-2006, 06:52 AM
I like to do other things as well (climbing, running, hill walking) and also get bored if I ride all the time....BUT...the only way to get better at riding is to ride, there is no easy way round it unfortunately.

I tend to MTB more than anything else because:

a) I actually really enjoy it, the better I get, the more I do
b) I've spent a fortune on my bikes
c) Most of my friends bike, some bike only, its easier to organise.

However this weekend I'm going for a long walk in the Lakes :D