PDA

View Full Version : Smells Like....

Veronica
09-20-2006, 04:12 PM
I just opened up a drawer that I don't get into very often. It smells like crayons. I like that smell. It made me smile. :) I like to color. Thom says that I'm only a teacher because it gives me an excuse to read kids' literature (love when the Newberry's get announced. I buy them all.) and I get to do art. I stink at art though.

So what unexpected smells make you smile? (Not guffaw MP!)

V.

SadieKate
09-20-2006, 04:16 PM
The smell of autumn - as in dead salmon and rotting cottonwoods and aspen. OK, OK, I love steelheading in Oregon in October!

Lise
09-20-2006, 04:28 PM
I'm right there with you about the crayons, V. Oil paint also smells incredibly wonderful.

Burning leaves. One of my favorite smells, followed closely by a fire in the fireplace.

That smell in the air right before it rains.

The scent of slightly damp wool when I bury my face in my cat's fur.

Freshly ground coffee; sheets hung to dry on the line; onions cooking; copal incense burning.

V-my mom's a children's librarian. I have no shame in reading "young adult" literature. I would have missed His Dark Materials if I did!

snapdragen
09-20-2006, 04:31 PM
Honeysuckle at night

Champa incense

Wet days

Puppy paws

maillotpois
09-20-2006, 04:32 PM
Yes! The right before it rains one.

and snow. How can snow, which is just WATER, have a smell? But t does, and it is wonderful!!

A barley field in the summer. Smells like home.

I was hiking down this valley yesterday (Waipio) and there was this smell that was the most wonderful thing ever. Like spices and fruit all in one. It must have been some amazing tree. I wish I knew what it was.

Lise
09-20-2006, 04:38 PM
Oh, yes, puppy paws! They smell like Fritos!

And snow. A snowy evening, early in winter, everything's so quiet and beautiful, and yes, smells so good.