PDA

View Full Version : Tips for music and technique

jc23
03-16-2004, 06:58 AM
Hi All
I'm new here! I received my Reebok cycling certification last November and just started teaching this past February.

I'm looking for tips on great music and what technique you use. I'm finding that some of the music I've chosen is a little short in length and there fore it cuts my piece a bit.

Thanks for any input you may have!

JC :D

Irulan
03-16-2004, 08:27 AM
you might just read a bunch of the old threads here. Lots of dicussion from both the instructors pov and the class-attendee POV on what sucks, what doesn't, what we love/hate about spinning and so on.

Welcome aboard.

Irulan

AutumnBreez
03-21-2005, 09:08 AM
Here is a link for music for teaching/training

https://www.dynamixmusic.com/

Search around on the site think you will find what your looking for.

ABCL

Raindrop
03-22-2005, 08:42 PM
Congratulations on becoming a indoor cycling instructor. I've been doing it for nine years now and am still excited about it. :D

As far as music goes...choose music that motivates you. I'm assuming that you probably attended other instructors classes before deciding to get certified? If so, you know what type of music really works in a Spinning class.

I find that every club I teach at seems to have a different "vibe". I don't completely cater to that, but I do choose music to fit my profiles based on whether they like head-banging, techno, or classic rock etc. I use a variety of music in every profile so, if a member doesn't like one, they'll probably like another one that comes up. I also steer away from top 40 type stuff. It dates your profiles, and choosing music less often heard, but fitting your profile works best.

For some great ideas on music and developing profiles check some of the following sites:

www.pedal-on.com

www.turnstep.com (cycling board on TBB)

http://www.innercycling.com/innercycling.forums.html

doc
03-23-2005, 03:18 PM