PDA

View Full Version : Crock pot

KnottedYet
09-18-2006, 09:41 PM
I am, at this very moment, making vichisoisse in my crock pot. But it's bedtime and it's nowhere near done. Is it ok to leave a crock pot on overnight?

Bicyclette
09-18-2006, 09:55 PM
I would think it would be ok - they get left on all day for cooking so all night shouldn't be any different, should it?? But I'm not a crockpot expert :D

Kitsune06
09-18-2006, 09:56 PM
Depends on how much water is in it and how hot the crock pot is, I'd think. Mom left vension and squirrel stews in the crock pot overnight (pretty gamey and needed long, slow cooking) but she wasn't the picture of safety, either... :rolleyes:

KnottedYet
09-18-2006, 10:44 PM
all righty, I'm leaving the darn thing going overnight.

time to change the batteries in the smoke detectors.

SouthernBelle
09-19-2006, 05:35 AM
That's what they are made for. To be left on while you aren't available.

7rider
09-19-2006, 12:14 PM
I just bought one, and in the manual (yes, I actually read them) they said it's darn near impossible to overcook things in them, so I would think it would be (have been?) okay.
I assume by now it's a done deal...so how'd it turn out??

Denise223
09-19-2006, 12:46 PM
Hi Everyone!

Just wondering if any of you have some delicious recipes for vegetarian recipes that I can make in a crock pot?

We love "rice & beans", but......that can get boring after awhile :rolleyes: .

Here are a couple of websites that I like:

www.vegweb.com

http://vegetarian.allrecipes.com/

Peace & Love,

Denise

jsgeneroso
09-19-2006, 12:58 PM
Hi. Just a word about leaving crockpots on while asleep or away...keep the air moving! The aroma of the food tends to linger everywhere. It has in my apartment anyway.

makbike
09-19-2006, 06:15 PM
Denise: