PDA

View Full Version : form

cathy
03-08-2004, 03:18 PM
Is there anybody out there who can give me some direction re: form on a road bike. I've been riding for 6 months. I occasionally find myself locking my elbows. Is it me or is there something to adjust?

kelrunran
03-10-2004, 11:10 AM
I have only been riding for a year but I know that your upper body should always be very relaxed. While your riding you should think about relaxing your neck and arms. Should be a fairly light grip on the handle bars while climbing, unless there is a need to hang on.

Also, important to think about your pedaling motion. Think about pushing and pulling and/or pedaling circles. Somebody posted a link about pedaling technique, not sure which category it is under.

Kelly

cathy
03-10-2004, 03:36 PM
Thanks Kelly! I'll try it tomorrow.

emily_in_nc
03-11-2004, 08:07 AM
Cathy,

What Kelly says is definitely correct. However, if you are locking your elbows because you are too stretched out, you might need a shorter stem (horizontal or angled part of the stem) or to raise the vertical part up a bit. Your LBS can help you check your fit to the stem and see if your reach is correct.

If that's not a problem, your arms may just be getting tired as you ride, especially if you start off more bent and relaxed and end up with straight elbows towards the end of a ride. That's really common as riders get fatigued - to use your joints to support your weight (bad) rather than your muscles (good). I've found that weight training really helps with arm/shoulder endurance on rides. It doesn't have to be anything heavy-duty, just some dumbell work, or machines at the gym. Triceps and pectorals (shoulders) are the most important in helping support your upper body while you ride. Core strength (abs, lower back, torso) is also important so that you don't put too much weight on your arms. If your core is week, you sorta collapse forward and put too much weight on your upper body when riding.